anecdotally Happy New Year!

I am honored to begin serving you as the 2010 president of the Chicago Chapter of the National Organization for Women along with Jessica Rosenberger as vice president.  I am excited to start the new year with a new website that is modern and reflective of our chapter and our revitalized image.  We invite you to visit our team pages to find out what we have accomplished in 2009 as well as what we plan to do in 2010.

We have a vision for the women and girls of Chicago and pledge to be a feminist resource for them and the Chicago community.  We hope to work together with our members and volunteers to strengthen the Chicago feminist community and improve the lives of women and girls by focusing on core issues such as economic equity, women’s health, reproductive freedom, violence prevention and LGBTQ rights, while simultaneously supporting emergent issues.

In 2009, our chapter worked tirelessly to promote the Reproductive Health and Access Act (RHAA) and advocated for the Abortion Bubble Zone Law and the dismissal of police officer Anthony Abbate.  We held our 12th annual Women Who Dared fundraiser where we honored Lorie Chaiten, Director of the Reproductive Rights Project for the Roger Baldwin Foundation of the ACLU of Illinois, and Jennifer Koehler, Deputy General Counsel to Governor Pat Quinn.  In 2010, we will support and push for further gains in equal rights, healthcare access and abortion access.  Specific issues include:

  • Rallying Against the Stupak Amendment
  • Promoting the Reproductive Health and Access Act (RHAA)

We are committed to being a driving feminist force in these policy areas and seek your assistance and input. We plan to continue panel discussions in our key areas and host both our annual Love Your Body Day essay contest and our Women Who Dared fundraiser.  We hope to see and hear from you in 2010.

In feminism,

Melissa Satterlee


Chicago Chapter of the National Organization for Women

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *